“I Don’t Want A Savings Account, Fifth Third: Please Stop Calling Me”

From the Consumerist:

Brad is a customer of Fifth Third Bank. He’s annoyed at the bank’s marketing practices. He tells Consumerist that when he transferred a large amount of money from his account with a credit union, Fifth Third decided that he clearly had too much money, and they wanted to help him open a savings account to remedy that situation. Well, that’s not what they said, but close enough.

“I would like to know if this is a common practice as this is quite annoying that Fifth Third is doing this. I am in the midst of a kitchen remodel and transferd a large sum of money from my credit union savings account to my Fifth/Third checking account to pay for the kitchen remodel. I have received two calls from two different 5/3 employees asking me if I would like to open a savings account with them. Why are they calling me? I used to have a savings account with them many years ago but now keep it at a local credit union. I do not like the fact that they are watching the transactions on my account and using this information to cold call me…is this common practice among large banks?”

Leave a Reply

